Britons will have to pay 7 euros for visa-free travel to EU after Brexit
17 Dec 2018

British travellers will have to pay 7 euros (6.29 pounds) for a three year pre-travel authorisation to visit the European Union after Brexit, provided London seals a divorce agreement with the bloc.

The EU is readying a new electronic visa waiver system by 2021 to beef up security. The bloc’s executive proposed to exempt Britain from visas provided that the sides agree on a Brexit deal before the UK leaves, as is now due on March 29, 2019.

The new EU system, or ETIAS, would be similar to the ESTA scheme used by the United States, and would apply to countries outside the bloc whose citizens can travel to Europe visa-free.

By Gabriela Baczynska and Elizabeth Piper, Reuters, 14 December 2018.

Link to Reuters.

Count this content towards your CPD minutes, by signing up to our CPD Wallet


You must be logged in to post a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.